Not Just an Intern….

1 Feb

Image

 

Coffee running, paper copying, wide-eyed crazed loons. How else would you picture an intern? Eager to get started and impatient to start their portfolio work, stereotypes throughout history have portrayed these young saps as just that: a sap.  Often project-hungry creatures that end up participating in (and heading up. Oh ya!) a plethora of backbreaking daily duties like removing staples, interns end up working extended hours for no pay.

Before I started applying for internships, I asked around and Googled for weeks. Guess what? No luck. My colleagues had less information than a random keyword search on the Internet and Google offered me companies who required so many hours commuting back and forth; it seemed like a pointless venture.

Sometimes, however, you have to stop looking to truly see what is right in front of you. One day, while creepily browsing others on Facebook, I stumbled across a “liked” page an acquaintance had recently viewed: Beacon Public Relations. In Stillwater, Oklahoma, I, Allie Fayette, had found my shiny moment to be that bug-eyed intern I had so stoically awaited. I was ready to rip those staples, change that toilet paper and truly make the best copy anyone had ever seen.

But, I was wrong. Completely and utterly mistaken. I had followed a hackneyed idea of what the typical intern did, so when I arrived and was given my first assignments I was in shock. Meeting with clients, creating databases and writing a personal press  release was just the beginning. I was not changing the toilet paper like I had highly anticipated; I was changing the layout of our social media outlets and spearheading my own blog.

So, here I am, writing my first blog.

Maya Angelou once said: “I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” This favorite quote of mine will be my inspiration in writing these weekly updates. Finding ways to connect with clients, co-workers and your elders on more than just a verbal or written level is crucial to bettering your business and yourself. As I learn from this experience, hopefully you will too.

Until next time, keep smiling Beacon friends. 

Leave a Reply

